Quinoa Burgers

So, I’ve been a vegetarian on and off since I was about nine years old. At this point in my life, I probably just qualify as a picky eater, but my family and I still joke that I’m a “part-time vegetarian.” I’m extremely grateful to my mom – who cooked for the family basically every night growing up – for working around my pickiness and experimenting with new recipes to find things I could eat.

One of those recipes is this one for quinoa burgers, which let me enjoy all the condiments and sides of cookouts without having to eat hamburgers and hot-dogs. It’s a personal favorite of mine and I decided to make it this week because it’s something I know I’d be happy to eat for days, which can be great when you’re trying not to go to the grocery store as often during the pandemic.

Ingredients

  • 1 cup water
  •  ½ cup red quinoa
  • 1 Tablespoon canola oil
  • 1 cup diced onion
  • 2 cups finely chopped cremini or white button mushrooms
  • 1 teaspoon minced garlic
  • ¾ teaspoon dried marjoram
  • ¼ teaspoon dried oregano
  • 1 large egg
  • 2/3 shredded cheddar cheese
  • ½ cup chopped pecans
  • 1/3 cup quick-cooking rolled oats
  • 1 Tablespoon soy sauce
  • buns and burger toppings

Instructions

Combine water and quinoa in a medium saucepan. Bring to a boil. Reduce to a simmer, cover, and cook for 15 minutes. Remove from heat and let stand, covered, for 10 minutes. Fluff with a fork and set aside to cool.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Lightly grease a baking sheet or line with parchment paper.
Heat oil in a large saucepan over medium heat. Add onion and cook, stirring frequently, until starting to soften, about 5 minutes. Add mushrooms, garlic, marjoram, and oregano. Cook, stirring, until the mushrooms are tender, about 5 minutes. Let cool for about 5 minutes.

Beat egg in a medium bowl. Add the quinoa, mushroom mixture, cheese, pecans, oats, and soy sauce. Stir to combine. Scoop ½ cup portions of the mixture onto the baking sheet and shape into 8 patties, about 3 inches wide, leaving about 1 inch of space between each patty.

Bake the burgers until crispy, 28 to 30 minutes. Serve on buns with your favorite garnishes.

Author: Ryn W

Hi, I'm Ryn. This blog is basically a place to keep all the recipes I've been trying out recently and a way to keep me busy this summer.

Leave a comment